Skip to content
How Do I...?

BCATO Awards and Internship Programs

BCATO has two award programs, the BCATO Youth Award and the BCATO Service Award. In addition, BCATO offers annual intern scholarships.


George Metzger was a longtime Executive Director for this association who was dedicated to local government and spent most of his life helping the community.  George served as a County Commissioner, worked as a reporter for a major Philadelphia newspaper, and coached Little League.  It is in this spirit the BCATO Executive Board established a Service Award in his name following his passing in 2005.  This award is presented to a municipal official who has demonstrated outstanding public service in both an official capacity and beyond that capacity in their community and has nominated by another member. 


Dr. Richard “Doc” Derstine, long-time West Rockhill Township Supervisor, Past BCATO President, and Past PSATS President, served his township, Bucks County, and eventually represented the interest of Township Supervisors statewide.  He was a beloved community servant and this award was established to honor outstanding youth who have demonstrated a commitment to their communities and is open to all youth groups such as 4-H, scout troops, school, and religious groups, and civic service youth organizations from elementary school through grade 12.


To be eligible, all projects must involve youth in planning and implementation and must have a major impact on townships of the second class in Bucks County (governed by a board of supervisors).  Eligible projects must have been undertaken during the contest year, July 31 to June 30.


The BCATO Internship was created by our membership as a means to provide opportunities, encourage interest in municipal government, and foster skills necessary for the governing process. A municipality must commit to covering about 50% of the cost of compensating an intern. The municipality must agree to follow the internship standards set by BCATO and to compensate the intern at least $2,500. Application deadline